COVID-19 Business Relief in Ontario

Federal and provincial programs that have been announced for small businesses in Ontario.

Here’s a comprehensive list of all the federal and Ontario programs that have been announced so far for small businesses, including eligibility, how to apply, and where to find more information. We will update this page as more programs are introduced or more information is available.

If you are not satisfied with the programs listed, click here to find your local MP and email them to make your voice heard.

Federal Programs for Small Businesses

The Canada Emergency Business Account (CEBA) is an interest-free loan of $40,000 for qualifying businesses. Up to $10,000 of that amount will be eligible for complete forgiveness if $30,000 is fully repaid on or before December 31, 2022. This program will roll out in mid-April, and interested businesses should work with their primary banks.


To be eligible for this program, you and your business must meet the following requirements:

  • Your organization is an operating business (i.e., not a holding company) that has been in operation before March 1, 2020
  • Your organization’s payroll expense in the 2019 calendar year was between $20,000 and $1.5 million. You will need to provide:
    • Your employer account number, as reported at the top of the 2019 T4 Summary
    • Your employment income reported in Box 14 of their 2019 T4
    • Your 2019 T4SUM when requested upon audit
  • As per the requirements of the program set out by the Government of Canada, you will agree to use funds from this loan to pay for operating costs that cannot be deferred, such as payroll, rent, utilities, insurance, and property tax
  • You have an active business operating account with a primary financial institution
  • Your business operating account was opened prior to March 1, 2020
  • You are not applying for this program at more than one financial institution

How to apply:

Enrollment to this program will only be available online through your primary bank. Ensure you have the following information ready when applying online:

  • Your 2019 Business T4 Summary of Remuneration Paid Slip; You will be asked to enter your Canada Revenue Agency Business Number (BN) (15 characters) as reported under the field of "Employer’s account number"
  • Your Business Bank Account and Transit Number information with your primary bank

CIBC customers: Submit your CEBA application online through the CIBC Online Banking portal. If your business isn’t registered for CIBC Online Banking for Business, you must register here in advance using your CIBC Business Convenience Card® number. 

BMO customers: Complete this online application through the BMO website.

TD customers: Complete this online application through the TD website. 

Scotiabank customers: Complete this online application by logging into your Scotiabank online portal.

RBC customers: To enroll for CEBA, log into your RBC Online Banking for Business. If you are not registered for online banking, click here to enroll in RBC Online Banking for Business.

Where to find more information:

More information can be found through CIBC, BMO, TD, ScotiaBank, or RBC.

Provincial Programs for Small Businesses

Contact your Local MP and demand more programs

If you're not satisfied with any of the government programs or measures listed above, you should contact your local MP. Fintechs like Thinking Capital can help support small businesses by distributing funds quickly. If the government leverages fintechs, they can provide more support to small business owners like you and ease the burden placed on BDC and banks to launch these programs successfully. 

Find your local member parliament in the list below and click on their email address to make your voice heard. We've crafted an email template that will automatically appear when you click the email address.

Member of ParliamentConstituencyEmail
Adam van
Adam VaughanSpadina—Fort
Ahmed HussenYork South—
Alex RuffBruce—Grey—Owen
Anita VandenbeldOttawa West—
Anthony RotaNipissing—
Arif ViraniParkdale—High
Ben LobbHuron—
Bill BlairScarborough
Bill MorneauToronto
Bob BratinaHamilton East—Stoney
Bob SaroyaMarkham—
Brian MasseWindsor
Bruce StantonSimcoe
Carol HughesAlgoma—Manitoulin—
Carolyn BennettToronto—St. Paul'
Catherine McKennaOttawa
Charlie AngusTimmins—James
Cheryl GallantRenfrew—Nipissing—
Chris BittleSt.
Christine HogarthEtobicoke—
Chrystia FreelandUniversity—
Dave EppChatham-Kent—
David McGuintyOttawa
David SweetFlamborough—
Dean AllisonNiagara
Deb SchulteKing—
Derek SloanHastings—Lennox and
Diane FinleyHaldimand—
Doug ShipleyBarrie—Springwater—
Eric DuncanStormont—Dundas—South
Erin O'
Filomena TassiHamilton West—Ancaster—
Francesco SorbaraVaughan—
Francis DrouinGlengarry—Prescott—
Gagan SikandMississauga—
Gary AnandasangareeScarborough—Rouge
Han DongDon Valley
Helena JaczekMarkham—
Iqra KhalidMississauga—Erin
Irek KusmierczykWindsor—
James MaloneyEtobicoke—
Jamie SchmaleHaliburton—Kawartha Lakes—
Jean YipScarborough—
Jennifer O'ConnellPickering—
John BrassardBarrie—
John McKayScarborough—
John NaterPerth—
Judy A. SgroHumber River—Black
Julie DabrusinToronto—
Kamal KheraBrampton
Karen McCrimmonKanata—
Karen VecchioElgin—Middlesex—
Kate YoungLondon
Kirsty DuncanEtobicoke
Kyle SeebackDufferin—
Leona AlleslevAurora—Oak Ridges—Richmond
Lianne RoodLambton—Kent—
Lindsay MathyssenLondon—
Majid JowhariRichmond
Maninder SidhuBrampton
Marc SerréNickel
Marco MendicinoEglinton—
Marcus PowlowskiThunder Bay—Rainy
Marie-France LalondeOrlé
Marilyn GladuSarnia—
Mark GerretsenKingston and the
Marwan TabbaraKitchener South—
Mary NgMarkham—
Maryam MonsefPeterborough—
Matthew GreenHamilton
Michael BarrettLeeds—Grenville—Thousand Islands and Rideau
Michael ChongWellington—Halton
Michael LevittYork
Mona FortierOttawa—
Nathaniel Erskine-SmithBeaches—East
Navdeep BainsMississauga—
Neil EllisBay of
Omar AlghabraMississauga
Pam DamoffOakville North—
Patty HajduThunder Bay—Superior
Peter FonsecaMississauga East—
Peter FragiskatosLondon North
Phil McColemanBrantford—
Philip LawrenceNorthumberland—Peterborough
Raj SainiKitchener
Ramesh SanghaBrampton
Robert OliphantDon Valley
Ruby SahotaBrampton
Salma ZahidScarborough
Scot DavidsonYork—
Scott AitchisonParry Sound—
Scott DuvallHamilton
Scott ReidLanark—Frontenac—
Shaun ChenScarborough
Sonia SidhuBrampton
Sven SpengemannMississauga—
Terry DowdallSimcoe—
Terry SheehanSault Ste.
Tim LouisKitchener—
Tony BaldinelliNiagara
Tony Van BynenNewmarket—
Vance BadaweyNiagara
Yasmin RatansiDon Valley
Yvan BakerEtobicoke